This is unpublished


The University of Washington Fellowship in Dermatopathology provides a one year theoretical and practical educational experience in dermatopathology. Fellows coming from a pathology residency will spend 50% of their time in clinical dermatology and those from dermatology will focus on pathology in a similar time frame to insure a comprehensive knowledge base in both disciplines.

Training will also include the use of special staining techniques, electron microscopy, immunofluorescence and immunohistochemistry. There is a large diversity of in house as well as consult material. The trainee will have graduated responsibility and will be expected to be active in teaching conferences. Research is strongly encouraged through a variety of ongoing projects in both pathology and dermatology.


Visit the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology's Dermatopathology Fellowship page for detailed information about this program.

To apply, complete the Application & Instructions for Pathology Fellowships.

Follow the Fellowship Application Checklist for required application materials. Contact the program coordinator with any questions.



Program Contact

Pharady Chea
Program Coordinator, Pathology Fellowships

current fellow

Luke Dang, MD, PhD

Luke Dang, MD, 2023-24 Fellow

Pronouns: he/him/his
Hometown: St. Louis, MO
Undergraduate: Washington University in St. Louis, majors in Chemistry and Biology
MD/PhD: University of Washington, PhD in Molecular and Cellular Biology
Residency: University of California, Davis (in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology)
Clinical & Research Interests: dermatopathology, computational protein design/protein engineering, machine learning



Martin Dittmer, MD, 2022-23 Fellow 

2022-23 Chief Resident
Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Department of Dermatology

Hometown: Bettendorf, IA 
Undergraduate: University of Iowa 
Medical School: University of Iowa College of Medicine 
Internship: Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center, Milwaukee, WI 

  • 2021 Mugahed Hamza
  • 2020 Thomas Long
  • 2019 Rouba Hadi
  • 2018 Greg Cheeney
  • 2017 Cait May
  • 2016 Suzan Kavusi
  • 2015 David Zlotnick
  • 2014 Oliver Chang
  • 2013 Chris Simons
  • 2012 Jiong Zhang
  • 2011 Smita Krishnamurthy
  • 2010 Paul Furmanczyk
  • 2009 Allison Lisle
  • 2008 Chris Jokinen
  • 2007 Don Tran
  • 2006 Robert McFarlane
  • 2005 Gregory Walgamot
  • 2004 Ning Li
  • 2003 Steve Plumb